About Civitas

Mission Statement

Civitas magazine is published quarterly by the communications office for alumni, parents and friends of Central College. Its mission is to generate discussion and reflection, highlight the diversity of student, faculty and alumni experiences and inform readers about the engaging and possibly world-changing research and thought happening at Central. Civitas — which means “common purpose” — aims to strengthen connections to the college and within the Central College community.

 

The Website

The digital version of Civitas offers web-exclusive content, videos, photo slideshows and interactive features like reader comments, online sharing and electronic Newsnotes submissions. By featuring more of Central’s stories than is possible in print, the digital version of Civitas is able to cover a wider range of issues and cultivate a deeper — and more social — intellectual experience.

 


 

Editor & Director of Integrated Marketing Communications and Media

Denise Lamphier, lamphierd@central.edu

 

Assistant Editor & Senior Design Director

Melody VanderLeest, vanderleestm@central.edu

 

Assistant Editors

Jordan Bohr ’15, bohrj@central.edu

Jeanette Budding, buddingj@central.edu

Emily Hawk

Brittany Carlson Prokupek ’16, carlsonb@central.edu

Cyvannah Vecchio, vecchioc@central.edu

 

Photographers

Dustin Dawson, dawsond@central.edu

Paul Joy, joyp@central.edu

 

Newsnotes Editors

Mary Benedict
Peggy Johnson Van Den Berg ’83

alumni@central.edu

 

Sports Editor

Larry Happel ’81, happell@central.edu

 

Marketing and Project Management

Steffanie Bonnstetter, bonnstetters@central.edu

 

Director of Annual Giving and Alumni Engagement

Corey Falter, falterc@central.edu

 

Vice President for Advancement

Sunny Gonzales Eighmy ’99, eighmys@central.edu

 


Central College is not responsible for and does not verify the accuracy of content posted as comments or Newsnotes by public users.